Skip to content

Kajak athletes win provincial awards

Five members recognized for their outstanding seasons by BC Athletics
Longtime Kajaks coach Mosley Jack with 2019 JD award winners (left to right) Charlotte Bosma, Monty Mair, Lawrence Man, Zachary Kennedy, and Ryan Nickerson.

Five members of the Kajaks Track and Field Club were recognized at BC Athletics’ annual JD Awards Banquet.

At the culmination of the 2019 competitive season, the JD Award is the highest honour given by BC Athletics to Junior Development athletes who have met or surpassed hard-to-achieve JD Standards. These athletes are described to be the "best of the best" in their age groups in their respective events in track and field. In total, 57 athletes from across the province were honoured.

The Kajak winners included:


Monty Mair (high jump) and Zachary Kennedy (2,000 metres).


Lawrence Man (shot put and discus) and Charlotte Bosma (high jump).


Ryan Nickerson (60 metres, high jump and long jump).