G2s lean on NCAA talent for Dolphin Classic breakthrough

MVP Emerson Murray leads Burnaby academy team to win over Steve Lee's Running Rebels in men's final

It would have been one heck of an anniversary party for Steve Lee but instead it was a breakthrough win for G2 Athletics at the 34th annual Dolphin Park Classic.

The Burnaby-based basketball academy captured the men’s title with a 92-77 win over the Running Rebels in front of packed court at South Arm Park on Sunday night.

article continues below

 Lee, the Rebels' longtime captain, was making his record 25th appearance at Dolphin.

His team defeated FVDL 89-64 in the quarter-finals on Sunday afternoon and returned to the court a short time later for a 76-70 win over previously undefeated Athelite.

However, the memorable run would end against a team that was longer, younger and more athletic. 

G2 captain Gabe Gibbs put together an impressive roster that included former NCAA players Emerson Murray (Cal-Berkeley/Seattle) and Malik Morgan (LSU/Tulane), along with University of Mississippi recruit Sammy Hunter.

G2 took control of the game early in the second half thanks to their transition game and cruised to victory — capping a perfect weekend run that also featured a 77-56 semi-final win over defending champion X-Falcons. 

The Running Rebels’ third playoff game of the day had taken its toll with a shortened bench too as the 40-plus-year-old Lee did not play in the final.

Murray earned tournament MVP honours while Hunter and Morgan were first team all-stars.

Former Nebraska and UBC standout Harleen Sidhu led the Fusion to an 83-51 win over the Original Grandmas in the women’s final — earning MVP honours.

Here is a complete rundown of the individual winners



Emerson Murray (G2).

First Team All-Stars

Sammy Hunter (G2), Malik Morgan (G2), Graeme McCallum (Running Rebels), Joey Haywood (Running Rebels).

Second Team All-Stars

Denver Sparks Guest (FVDL), James Woods (Young Guns), Glen Ruby (X-Falcons), Sukhman Sandhu (Athelite).

Dunk contest winner: Clay Crellin.

3-point contest winner: Aman Heran.

Women’s MVP: Harleen Sidhu.


Read Related Topics

© Richmond News