Skip to content

MacNeill Ravens wrap season with 10th place at provincials

The senior boys basketball team lost out to Richmond rivals Steveston-London in the playoff for ninth place in Langley
MacNeill Ravens senior boys basketball team placed 10th at the provincials on the weekend

The MacNeill Ravens senior boys basketball team wrapped up its season on the weekend with a 10th place finish at the 2023 B.C. high school provincial championships in Langley.

The Ravens went to the Langley Events Centre as the number-eight seed last week, but fell 87-86 to Richmond rivals Steveston-London in an exciting finale on Saturday.

MacNeill had earlier lost to Argyle, before picking up wins against JL Crowe and South Kamloops. 

Steveston-London lost 93-88 to MEI, before beating Caledonia 88-65 and St. Thomas 66-64.

MacNeill Grade 12 Josh Mayan led the team offensively during the tourney, as he has done all season long, averaging 26 a game.

Richmond MVP and South Fraser all-star

Josh was also the Richmond league MVP during the season and was an all-star at the South Fraser Zone Championship, where MacNeill finished second to North Delta.

“Coach Ben (Mayan) and I are so proud of our team…we’ve set some goals early in the season and have been able to achieve all of them riding the highs and lows throughout the season,” Ravens’ co-coach Steward Siy told the Richmond News.

MacNeill had five graduating seniors in the team, all of whom “contributed to the success of our season,” added Siy.

They were: Josh Mayan, Josiah Dativo, Andrew King, Josh Felipe and Nick Ellens.  Dativo was also recognized as an all-star during league play. 

“We are already excited for next season as we look to qualify for our fifth-straight provincials…we have a few key returning players ready to step up,” said Siy.

“Guards Migel Galano Tan, Sean Duques and forward Joaquin Bautista all played a big role this year, Bautista was a league and zone all-star, all three will be counted on heavily.”

The full team was:

Josh Mayan, Josiah Dativo, Andrew King, Josh Felipe, Nick Ellens, Migel Galano Tan, Samer Awar Raouf, Xyrille Reyes, Joaquin Bautista, Sean Duques, Francis Chan, Miko Bacarac, Marco Ip, Wahkig Lay and Manav Mattu.

They were managed by Miko Macapagal, Ryan Nave and Merve Medik.

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks