Skip to content

City of Richmond calls for urban design award submissions

The Lulu Awards take place every four years
Lulu Awards
Submissions are now being accepted for this year's Lulu Awards, which celebrate urban design across Richmond.

The City of Richmond is calling for submissions for this year’s Lulu Awards, which celebrate homes, buildings and outdoor spaces that “raise the bar” for urban design.

According to the city, excellence in urban design is defined by how buildings and the open spaces between them – such as parks, walkways, bridges, water, landscaping, lighting and signage – work together to create an attractive and safe city.

The Lulu Awards take place every four years. Both private and public sector projects are eligible for an urban design award, if they have been approved and completed up to five years prior to the awards year.

Submissions for this year’s awards will be accepted until 5 p.m. on Monday, Feb. 28, and can be made by project owners, a member of the project team or the public.

All entries must meet submission requirements.

The awards will be announced in the fall.

This year, there are 11 categories, including:


  • Residential (single-family, coach house or duplex, including innovative renovations)
  • Residential (townhouse)
  • Residential and Mixed-use (mid rise)
  • Residential and Mixed-use (high rise)
  • Commercial
  • Industrial
  • Public and Institutional Buildings

Open Space:

  • Public and Institutional Open Space
  • Landscape Innovation
  • Ecological Design and Innovation
  • Universal Design and Innovation

For more information about the Lulu Awards, including submission requirements and entry forms, visit