Skip to content

Three Richmond residents receive B.C. award for community work

Give it up to our local residents!
BC Achievement Foundation Award winners
Anthony and Nancy Yurkovich (left) and Suresh Kurl are among 20 others who are recipients of this year's BC Achievement Foundation's Community Award.

Three Richmond residents are being awarded for their community work by the BC Achievement Foundation.

Anthony and Nancy Yurkovich, who were selected as one recipient together, as well as Suresh Kurl were among 20 recipients of the Community Award from the foundation.

The Community Award recognizes B.C. residents who have demonstrated commitment to “elevating people around them” and building a stronger community.

The Yurkovichs are described as the pillars of Richmond’s philanthropic community.

“True community champions, they consistently continue to step up and encourage others to consider how everyone might contribute to building a better community,” reads a BC Achievement Foundation statement.

They are advocates for medical causes, including mental health, home care and end-of-life care and established the first, free-standing community hospice in Richmond called the Rotary Hospice House in 2005.

In addition, they have supported Richmond’s Pathways Clubhouse, Vancouver General Hospital, Richmond Hospital and UBC’s agriculture and food sustainability programs.

Meanwhile, Kurl, 81, has connected B.C. residents through articles and essays on culture, equality, justice and faith, which have appeared in various media publications in the province for more than four decades.

Kurl is described as an energetic individual with a drive, which has helped improve the understanding of citizenship, multiculturalism, race relations, and interfaith harmony.

“A community builder, Suresh presents in forums where he shares his unique and rich experiences and challenges his audiences to adopt oneness rather than otherness,” reads the statement.

He was, until recently, an active member of the Canadian Race Relations Foundation and is still a member of the Special Committee on Reforming the Police Act.

BC Achievement Foundation will be hosting an award ceremony for the recipients of the Community Award in Victoria on May 10.