Skip to content

Qualtrough to be inducted into BC Sports Hall of Fame

Delta’s MP goes into the builder category in the Class of 2023

She is considered one of the most influential and respected women in Canadian sport and now is being recognized for her achievements by the BC Sports Hall of Fame.

Delta Liberal MP Carla Qualtrough will be inducted into the builder category in the Class of 2023 for the BC Sports Hall of Fame.

The 2023 induction class was revealed during a press conference on Tuesday morning.

Joining the honoured member ranks in June of 2023 are six athletes, four builder-coaches, two teams, two pioneers, one media member and the winner of the prestigious W.A.C. Bennett Award.

“I’m super excited, especially being inducted into the builder category,” said Qualtrough. “I worked very hard as an athlete and I’m very proud of my accomplishments, but I also worked hard after I retired as an athlete to improve the sport system to make it more inclusive of persons with disabilities in particular. And again, I’m just very honoured to have that work recognized and to be amongst this class. I’m super humbled.”

Qualtrough served as president of the Canadian Paralympic Committee from 2006 to 2010. She is the first Paralympic athlete elected to Canadian Parliament, served as Minister of Sport and Persons with Disabilities from 2015 to 2017 and is currently a member of the International Paralympic Committee’s Legal and Ethics Committee, a role she has held since 2002.

She also served as the IPC’s Legal Officer for the London 2012 Paralympic Games, served as vice-president of the Americas Paralympic Committee from 2013 to 2015.

As an athlete, she represented Canada in swimming at two Paralympic Games (1988 Seoul, 1992 Barcelona) winning three bronze medals in various relays while swimming to eight top-eight individual finishes.

The induction class also includes: Athletes: North Delta’s Mitch Berger, football; Dennis Kearns, hockey; Kelsey Serwa, ski cross; Dr. Jaimie Borisoff, wheelchair basketball; Dr. Susan Butt, tennis and Mary-Anne Walz, softball.

Builders/coaches: Wynn Gmitroski, athletics; Deb Huband, basketball, Jim Kojima, judo.

Team category: 1971 Richmond Roadrunners Men’s Lacrosse and 2012 Penticton Vees Pioneer category: Eleanor (Young) Stonehouse, tennis and Dr. Brian Day, Sports Medicine

Media: Dan Russell

W.A.C. Bennett Award: Jake Kerr and Jeff Mooney.

“After months of anticipation, we’re energized to begin telling the stories and marking the outstanding achievements of our Class of 2023,” said Tom Mayenknecht, chair of the BC Sports Hall of Fame. “Honouring the past – and inspiring the future – is at the very heart of the mission of the BC Sports Hall of Fame and this year’s honourees truly exemplify the best of sport in this province and beyond.”

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks