Skip to content

Prince George business owner selected for BC Liberal Leadership Election Organizing Committee

Cameron Stolz one of seven appointed to the committee
Local business owner Cameron Stolz

The BC Liberal Party has chosen a Prince George business owner to be apart of its Leadership Election Organizing Committee. 

The committee will administer the upcoming leadership for the party. 

Cameron Stolz, Owner of Great White Toys, is one of seven members appointed to the position. 

He is also a former Prince George city councillor, serving from 2008 to 2014.

Currently, Prince George-Valemount MLA Shirley Bond is serving as the interim leader after Andrew Wilkinson stepped down early from the BC Liberal Party when the BC NDP won a convincing majority government in a snap election this past October. 

The six other members joining Stolz are as follows: 

  • Co-Chair Roxanne Helme of Victoria 
  • Co-Chair Colin Hansen of Vancouver
  • Derek Lew of Vancouver
  • Sarah Sidhu of Port Moody 
  • Don Silversides of Prince Rupert
  • Jackie Tegart of Ashcroft 

The committee will be in charge of deciding the timeline for the leadership election, establishing rules and implementing a process in which members will elect the leader. 

The party says all of those chosen for the roles have pledged to remain neutral throughout the leadership process to ensure fairness as well as accountability. 

Backgrounders provided by the BC Liberal Party for each candidate are as follows:

Cameron Stolz has been a small business owner for over 30 years in Prince George with almost three dozen staff working at his companies. He served two terms on city council where he chaired the Governance Review and the Finance and Audit Committees.

Roxanne Helme has been practicing law in Victoria for over 30 years. She is an active community volunteer having provided governance expertise to benefit organizations including the Victoria and Esquimalt Police Board, the Inter-Cultural Association of Victoria, the Coalition to End Homelessness and the Canadian College of Performing Arts.

Colin Hansen served as the MLA for Vancouver-Quilchena from 1996 to 2013. He was a member of Cabinet for ten years which included serving as Deputy Premier and at various times, Minister of Finance, Health and Economic Development.

Derek Lew is the President and Chief Executive Officer of GrowthWorks Capital. Derek holds a Bachelor of Arts from the University of British Columbia and a Bachelor of Laws from the University of Alberta and is a member of the Law Society of British Columbia.

Sarah Sidhu is an experienced lawyer in both the private and public sector and currently practices in-house. She is an active community volunteer and currently serves as a member of the board of directors of the Vancouver Foundation. She is also a member of the Canadian Bar Association and Canadian Corporate Counsel Association.

Don Silversides practices corporate and commercial law in Prince Rupert. For the 2017/2018 BC Liberal leadership election, he was a member of the rules committee. Don is currently the acting president of the BC Liberal Party.

Jackie Tegart was first elected as the MLA for Fraser-Nicola in 2013 and was re-elected in 2017 and 2020. She currently serves as the Official Opposition Critic for Education. Prior to being elected as the MLA, she served three terms on Ashcroft council and was a school board member for 17 years.